Guest Story by Purple Chimp – Pride

[We’ve asked our readers to submit their own stories for a chance to have art drawn to their words. Our friend, Purple Chimp, was one of our first submitters. He wrote some short prose based on our “Mother, You’re Overreacting” piece from one of our Saturday Rejects segment. Wendy opted to draw an original piece for the submission.

Check the rest of his other work over at Boring, Banal and not at all Bodacious – I recommend Mr. Fingers’ Adventures.]

We named her Abigail in the hope that she would be the bringer of joy.

She failed on every conceivable, measurable scale. Driving him away with her crying.

She was a hassle growing up, problems at school, problems with other kids. Stealing my clothes, stealing my make-up, stealing my smokes.

They say she looks like me. That could not be further away from the truth, the little slut.

I have seen the way she looks at him, the way she dresses, the way she flirts with him.

She is nothing like me, she is nothing to me.

This entry was posted in Dark, Guest Stories, Reflection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Guest Story by Purple Chimp – Pride

  1. Posky says:

    I like this story because I’ve been the awful part of it. It gives nothing away while giving everything away.

    As always, the artwork was exquisite.

  2. Pingback: Harry Potter + Funny | Boring, Banal and not at all Bodacious

  3. This is like a shadow of a story, so many angles hinted at, so very sad. Like a truncated Dr. Phil segment.

    • I thought so too, Re. I was surprised when I went to Purple Chimp’s blog and found writing on the opposite spectrum of what was posted here. Like it came form a completely different person, which I think is pretty cool.

  4. mazemangriot says:

    Nice drawing Wendy. Are you going to put all of these drawings together for a show or something?

    • Maze, if you have an art gallery that would want to show it then sure! Otherwise, this is just for our own amusment right now.

      • mazemangriot says:

        Here in Denver we have several galleries that will show your work. Problem is they charge a fee to even hang up your work. I’m working on several pieces to book some fall/winter shows that I thought about collaborating with other artists. I let you know.

Leave a comment