Saturday Rejects – Lonely, Nature’s Vanity and Contemplation

Another week has snuck by and with it a few more of Wendy’s sketches almost managed to go unnoticed. Luckily for the betterment of humanity I have absolute access to all of her secret hiding places, which allows me to ensure these beautiful pieces of art don’t become lost to the sands of time.

I’ve dubbed this drawing “Lonely” since I can’t help but feel the acute pangs of loss when studying the lone figure and the fine lines that so simply illustrate the cold of solitude. This one was held onto longer than others since I really wanted to write about it, but Wendy’s just putting out too much good stuff for me to keep up with everything.

This piece is obviously special and has a lot to say, I just couldn’t understand it enough to bring the story to life. I hope you have better luck unraveling it than I did. Enjoy!

This is just a practice piece using a photo as reference which I’ve named “Contemplation”. I imagine a man sitting by himself at a chess board in the middle of a wind swept park. Playing against himself, he struggles with the defeat that he begins to realize is imminent. We all beat ourselves up about the decisions we make, sometimes backing ourselves into a corner of defeat – which I think Wendy captures here perfectly.

It’s been a great week for Fiction & Foibles. We’ve seen some amazing art out there and made some good friends. Can’t wait to see what the next week brings. Thanks for stopping by!

This entry was posted in Dark, Experience, Reflection, Saturday Rejects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday Rejects – Lonely, Nature’s Vanity and Contemplation

  1. mazemangriot says:

    Great work Wendy. The middle one I think could be called “Beautifully Young America.” Especially in Denver so many people are obsessed with staying young. And they dress, talk and act as though they are a lot younger than they are. Anyway I like your art keep it going.

    • Thank you for the comment Mazemangriot!
      I like your title for that piece.. (I find that there are a lot people like that in most major cities.. LA and orange county are swarmed.) Rory actually titles a lot of my work as I seldom find the right words to describe what I was trying to convey in my drawings.. but I am working on that. Again, thanks for stopping by and I apologize for the delay in response.
      Talk to you later I’m sure! (as I am always visiting your a-maze-ing site) ^_^

      -Wendy

Leave a Reply

